Information
Home > People > Departments > English Language & Literature

English Language & Literature


2018_ELD_1280.jpg














Vision


Every JYian an effective communicator using Standard English.

Mission


To achieve value-added results by equipping JYians with lifelong learning skills and values.

Long Term Goals


1)
To develop JYians into confident and competent communicators

2) To develop a strong reading culture amongst JYians

3) To achieve value – added results in English Language

Stand and Deliver and TED Talks

The English Department has embarked on a school-wide public speaking programme – Stand & Deliver (S&D) and TED Talks during morning assembly. These public speaking platforms aim to develop every JYian into confident and competent speakers of the English language.  More details are available here on the Applied Learning Programme (ALP) write-up.

EL Reading Programme and Reading Awareness Week

The department has continued to encourage students to read to help them develop their general knowledge and instil good reading habits by subscribing to the Straits Times and providing in-house reading material fortnightly.


Reading Awareness Week is aimed to encourage students to develop the love for reading. Fun and engaging activities are carried out during the week, exposing students to different kind of reading materials.  Students are also given an opportunity to discuss and share about their favourite novels with their peers.

EL Intensive Programme (Graduating classes)

This programme is intended to equip our students with specific examination skills to prepare them for the GCE ‘O’ and ‘N’ level examinations during term time and school holidays. Through this programme, our students are more confident and motivated to do well in their national examinations.

 

English Enrichment and Grammar Programmes

The department also embarked on a series of topical enrichment lectures to equip graduating students with the necessary knowledge and language skills to tackle the GCE O Level examination.  The skills were conducted both by English Language teachers and invited speakers.  Topics ranged from education to  the aged.


Offering Literature as an Elective in Secondary 3

In addition, this is also the first year that the English Department has offered Upper Secondary English Literature as an Elective subject for Secondary 3 Express students. Helmed by Miss Lynette Wong, the inaugural class of 17 students study The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan, poetry and unseen prose. Literature students understand themselves and others better in a multicultural and interconnected world by exploring the depth and breadth of the human experience through works of literature.

Activities


1.jpg2.jpg
Students preparing for their group presentation
with the help of the instructor.

Students brainstorming ideas for their group presentation. 
3.jpg4.JPG
Vice-Principal, Mr Peter Quah, discussion student's Stand & Deliver experiences.  Students presenting during morning assembly for
the Reading Awareness Week (RAW)

5.JPG6.JPG
Students presenting on the books that they have
read during RAW. 
Sec 4E5N students attending English Enrichment Lecture
by Republic Polytechnic lecturer Mr CJ Hong. 

7.JPG8.JPG
 Sec 2E Literature students during a hot seat session convincing  one another of their view points.Sec 3E Literature students enacting their scripts created
from selected chapters.  

Organisation Chart

 

                                                                                HEAD OF DEPARTMENT


Mdm P.Manimegalai.jpgMdm P Manimegalai
HOD (English Language & Literature)
Email :
Manimegalai_P@moe.edu.sg

SUBJECT HEAD

Ms Chan Jia Hui Francesca.jpgMs Francesca Chan  
Subject Head (English Language & Literature)
    Email  
chan_jia_hui_francesca@moe.edu.sg

TEACHERS
Mr Kartik Aravind Raj s-o V M Selvarajah.jpg Mr Kartik Aravind Raj
Class 4E3 Form Teacher
Email :
kartik_aravind_raj@moe.edu.sg
Shynn Lim Shi Ying.jpgMs Shynn Lim Shi Ying 
Year Head (Lower Sec)
Email :  
lim_shi_ying@moe.edu.sg
Mr Adrian Tan Liang Huat.jpg Mr Adrian Tan
HOD (Character & Citizenship Ed)

Email :
adrian_tan_liang_huat@moe.edu.sg
Ms Elydia Binte Azman.jpgMs Elydia Azman
Class 2E2 Form Teacher

Email :
elydia_azman@moe.edu.sg
Ms Wong Zhimin Lynette.jpgMs Lynette Wong
Class 3E2 Form Teacher
Email :
wong_zhimin_lynette@moe.edu.sg

Ms Lee Mei Qing Tricia Anne.jpgMs Tricia Lee
Class 3A2 Form Teacher
Email :

lee_mei_qing@moe.edu.sg
Ms Ek Ben Yee.jpgMs Ek Ben Yee
Class 1A3 Form Teacher

Email :
ek_ben_yee@moe.edu.sg

Ms Lim Hui Ying Maybellina.jpgMs Maybellina Lim 
Class 1E3 Form Teacher
Email :
hui_ying_maybellina_lim@moe.edu.sg

3H0A5087.JPGMs Teoh Cheng Ling
Class 4E3 Form Teacher
Email : 
teoh_cheng_ling@moe.edu.sg
 

Ms Nur Nadiyah Binte Abdullah.jpgMs Nur Nadiyah Abdullah
AED / Class 2T1 Form Teacher

Email :
nur_nadiyah_abdullah@moe.edu.sg

Mr Goh Piak Chiang Billy.jpg Mr Billy Goh
 
Email  
goh_piak_chiang@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Kurusamy G.jpgMdm Kurusamy G.
Email :
kurusamy_govindammal@moe.edu.sg
 Mrs Choong Lay Len.jpgMrs Choong Lay Len
Email :
choong_lay_len@moe.edu.sg